Call for Papers: Baltic Connections 2020: A Conference in Social Science History

Call for Papers
Baltic Connections: a Conference in Social Science History
March 26-27, 2020
University of Jyväskylä, Finland

The Baltic Connections 2020 will take place at the University of Jyväskylä, Finland, from March 26 to 27, and is hosted by the Department of History and Ethnology. As with the inaugural conference last year in Helsinki, we aim to bring together scholars working on comparative, economic, social, global, and other types of history and related social sciences to address various “East-West” historical processes and events as well as comparative and transnational analysis, including at the Baltic region, Europe, and the world. Potential topics include but are not limited to trade, migration, comparative development, international political economy and the diffusion and transplantation of institutions, ideas and cultural influences. Moreover, we want to promote interdisciplinary encounters and discussions, with the goal of bringing together scholars working in Western, Nordic, Central and East European, Baltic, and Russian universities. We are open to proposals that incorporate new digital technologies and ideas for roundtables.

The second Riitta Hjerppe Lecture in Social Science History will be given by Stephen Broadberry (University of Oxford). Further outstanding keynotes will be delivered by Kerstin Enflo (Lund University) and Sakari Saaritsa (University of Helsinki).

The deadline for proposals is December 1, 2019. In addition to individual paper submissions, proposals for whole three to four paper panels are appreciated. Submitters will be notified of acceptance by December 15. Proposals can be submitted to .

We announce a limited number of travel grants up to 200 euros for participants coming from abroad. Please indicate in your submission if you want to apply.

The organizing institutions are University of Jyväskylä, University of Helsinki, and the Finnish Economic History Association. The organizing group consists of Jari Ojala (University of Jyväskylä), Merja Uotila (University of Jyväskylä), Miikka Voutilainen (University of Jyväskylä), Riina Turunen (University of Jyväskylä), Jari Eloranta (University of Helsinki), Sakari Saaritsa (University of Helsinki), Olli Turunen (University of Helsinki). More information can be obtained from Jari Ojala.